Christians + crime = The Great Northern Texas.

So, it seems that the University of Alberta Atheists and Agnostics group (were they there when I attended?  Damn it, I missed out!) had a banner defaced by a group of hateful Christians recently (h/t Pharyngula).  Good to see that my alma mater has such tolerant people.

<sigh>

Update:  for those of you coming in from “Paul Lesoway”‘s note on this subject – yes, since you linked to me and clicked on the link, I can see you – I implore you to grow up and perhaps even try to adopt someone else’s viewpoint for a moment;  as one of the commenters on the original post that I linked to above said, what would be your feelings if someone defaced and vandalized a poster advocating a Christian group on campus?  One of the reasons that you go to university is to be exposed to people who don’t necessarily share your beliefs, so this is an opportunity to become a better person.  Don’t blow it.

7 Responses to Christians + crime = The Great Northern Texas.

  1. Ian says:

    Thanks for the comments. Our group only started last year, so unless you’re a really new grad, you missed out.

  2. Winawer says:

    Ah, that explains it – I would have just missed you guys then. Shame. 😦

  3. Phil says:

    If this happened to a Catholic poster we would probably laugh it off as some dumbass drunk with nothing better to do. We’d think it was highly disrespectful but wouldn’t go trying to prosecute it as a hate crime. If anything, it’s a love crime…

  4. Winawer says:

    A “love crime”. Wow, how amusing. Perhaps I’ll lovingly spray-paint the walls of your church next time I’m in town, Phil, or if you’re Catholic, maybe I can lovingly urinate in the holy water. Perhaps I’ll lovingly set fire to the place, and lovingly burn it down while you’re standing inside. Of course, I’m being satirical here, because I would never do any of these things, but I’m asking you, Phil: how does adding “love” in front of “crime” make it okay? And what line would I have to cross before it wasn’t a “love” crime any more?

    Oh, and I noticed that you made your Facebook note private. Good for you! I would hate for future employers to see you write something so intolerant.

  5. BigE says:

    There are so many larger problems in the world than a UAAA poster on campus. You’re wasting your time.
    -E

  6. Phil says:

    HAHAHAHA, wow. Defacing a poster… burning down a church. With a person in it. Kind of a little bit of a difference there. As I said before, go ahead, write something on a Catholic banner. I know I’m not going to jump to any conclusions about a “hateful Atheist” doing it simply to spread some ill will against another facet of belief. I’m going to assume it’s some immature kid with nothing better to do or some drunken bum thinking “this is going to be hilarious.” But you know, causing permanent damage to a place or worship, contaminating water that people put on their faces with something really quite unhygienic, or committing murder, go a little far for my liking. You talk to us about opening up and realizing how other people see the world? I think in this regard, I’m going to pass. Not to mention Atheism by definition has closed off any notion of seeing how people think there could be something else out there, whether it be an omnipotent force or some sort of divine being. How is it you guys jump so readily to some “group of hateful Christians” that did this? As for the “love crime” comment… learn to read sarcasm when you see it. It’s one thing to joke about the type of crime an act is and the murder/defacing of a well established religion.

  7. Winawer says:

    Phil, what part of “satire” do you not understand? I shouldn’t have to explain this to you, but I was challenging your use of the word “love” in front of “crime” and showing you that it’s a ridiculous construction. As for the “love crime” business suddenly being sarcasm, it was a stupid and disrespectful thing to say whether it was sarcasm or not (and if it was, you need to learn how to make that clear in writing, because your sudden reversal is awfully convenient).

    Though I will give you the fact that “Christians” having done this is possibly an unfounded assumption. It’s a reasonable one, given the specifics of the defacement, but unless someone comes forward or is caught, there is some room for doubt.

    Not to mention Atheism by definition has closed off any notion of seeing how people think there could be something else out there, whether it be an omnipotent force or some sort of divine being.

    I can see exactly how people think about fairies in the sky, Phil, I just think that they’re wrong. There’s a difference.

    It’s one thing to joke about the type of crime an act is and the murder/defacing of a well established religion.

    Again, Phil, satire. The point was to show that adding “love” in front of the crime doesn’t make it all right – thus, adding “love” in front of “church arson” doesn’t make it a funny offense like you seem to think it does for vandalism. And how does the status of the religion or organization matter? Is it all right to deface a Zoroastrian object because it’s a much smaller religion than Christianity? Or are you claiming that it was okay to deface an athiestic banner because it’s not a “well established religion”? I’d love to hear some clarification.

Leave a Reply

