It LIVES!

Okay, so I’m still trying to carve out some time from actual science to do some writing about science, but in the meantime, I thought I might share the wonder that is the FRANKEN-PUTER! It’s ALIVE! AHAHAHAHA!

This is a simulation workhorse that I’m building for the lab; it’s an octo-core (2 x quad-core Xeon) system, 8 gigs of RAM, etc. The problem is, I can’t stick the mobo in the chasis because the case (a Coolermaster Stacker 830) was sent with the wrong standoffs for the motherboard. I understand that I’m not the only person to have this problem, and they’re rushing out new spacers to me.

I didn’t want to wait to get Ubuntu running on this beast, though, so I set it running regardless. I’m not taxing it too much while its guts are spilled all over the table, but hearing the CPU fans purr when I fire it up and watching that beautiful heron jump onto the new 22-inch flat screen LCD does give me a pleasant little shiver…

One Response to It LIVES!

Leave a Reply

