Me to Québec: WTF?

This was published before I left for the weekend:

The emergency contraceptive pill Plan B, also known as the morning-after pill, was approved yesterday as an over-the-counter drug across the country – except in Quebec.

While other Canadian girls and women – there is no minimum age requirement – will be able to buy Plan B as they do Tylenol or vitamins, Quebecers will still have to consult a pharmacist and reveal some very personal information about their sexual activity.

Yesterday’s ruling by the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities makes Canada – excluding Quebec – the fifth country worldwide to allow women to purchase Plan B without speaking to a pharmacist first.

I think that Québec’s conservative Catholic roots may be showing here. There is absolutely no reason to withhold emergency contraception from women in Québec, unless you’re sporting a hidden “moral” agenda (I use the term “moral” loosely here, because I don’t think that there’s anything morally good about their position); there are no safety risks to Plan B, and abstinence-only education and its ilk have utterly failed (example review).

Between things like this, and the continual language / culture wars around here (there will be a detailed rant on that at some point in the future, I can promise you!), I doubt that I could ever bring myself to remain in this province once I’m done my education…

Leave a Reply

