iPhone in Canada!

Rogers says iPhone coming before year-end

Okay, now *that’s* what I’m taking about. Here’s the important part of the story, since the rest is really just blah-de-blah about Rogers and their revenue:

TORONTO – Rogers Communications Inc. said on Tuesday it plans to bring the iPhone to Canada before the end of the year.

“We’re thrilled to announce that we have a deal with Apple to bring the iPhone to Canada later this year.

No word on pricing, yet. And the ‘later this year’ bit makes me think that they might be waiting for the release of the 3G iPhone which is rumoured to be in the next few months.

I wonder how much this is going to hurt the booths selling unlocked iPhones (and other GSM phones) around MontrĂ©al? (And were those sales being included in the world-wide stats on iPhone sales? My thought is “yes”, because they had to legitimately buy the phone somehwere, but I’m not confident enough to state that definitively.)

In any case, I’m glad to see that they’re finally bringing the iPhone to Canada, but unfortunately it comes a little late for me. A few after the initial release of the iPhone in the U.S., I was coming up to the end of my contract with B*ll and if the iPhone had been available, I would have found the money to get an iPhone. But it wasn’t, so I didn’t, and now I have a KRZR. (It’s an okay phone, but let’s face it, it’s no iPhone). Not to mention that Bell drops about 1 out of every 4 cross-country calls for me, but that’s a story for another angry blog post.

Leave a Reply

