Expelled is tanking as we speak.

Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed (2008) – Daily Box Office Results

We’ll have to wait to see how things play out until Monday, but Friday’s results seem to be pretty suggestive: Expelled’s staying power seems to have come up drastically short. With a nearly 70% drop from the previous Friday’s results and a grand total of about $4.3 million, Expelled will be hard pressed to make back the millions of dollars that they put into the film. (Yeah, I know: Brayton’s estimate is at best an educated guess, but I haven’t see anything better anywhere, and the argument is plausible).

Excuse me while I shed some tears over the demise of this steaming pile of creationist spew.

UPDATED: Dracil dropped by to leave a comment, and I liked his Friday round up so much that I’m linking to it.  So there.  You can’t stop me!  Oh, wait, I’m mad with power.  Right, have to take my pills now….

3 Responses to Expelled is tanking as we speak.

  1. dracil says:

    Its ratings also dropped over the weekend on Yahoo, IMDB, RT, and boxofficemojo.

    If it’s like last week, it’s gonna do even worse on Saturday and Sunday.

  2. Winawer says:

    Dracil,

    Thanks for the info on the ratings – it warms a guy’s heart to see that people are voting with their feet! 🙂

  3. Bad says:

    I’m not really sure “tanking” makes much sense. The film certainly didn’t meet its maker’s stated goals, but its seems to have the basic and relatively mediocre trajectory of any documentary.

Leave a Reply

